Scholarships, Grants and Individual Awards

The NZPI Annual Award Scholarships, Grants and Individual Award winners were announced at the 2020 NZPI AGM, full details below.

Reginald Hammond Scholarship

The first scholarship announced at the AGM was the Reginald Hammond Scholarship. This scholarship is awarded annually to a student entering the final year of study in an NZPI accredited planning degree at the undergraduate or post-graduate level in New Zealand and has a value of $4,000.

This year’s winner was Elisabeth Boyle – our congratulations to Elizabeth.

Robert Kennedy Grant

Next to be announced was the Robert Kennedy Grant. The Robert Kennedy Grant is awarded in recognition of excellence in research that achieves a world-class level of success. Success is exemplified by dissemination of a significant body and depth of work, through peer reviewed publications in international journals, or books, of high repute and has a value of $2,000.

This year’s recipient of the Robert Kennedy Grant was Associate Professor Caroline Miller.

Papa Pounamu Whakatutukitanga Scholarship

We then announced the winner of the new Papa Pounamu Whakatutukitanga Scholarship. This new scholarship, which is sponsored by WSP, recognises excellence and attainment by a student planner studying an NZPI accredited planning degree at the undergraduate or post-graduate level and involved in Māori planning in an environmental framework. It considers a student’s academic and physical work and how that work might impact or change the understanding or practice of planning in New Zealand. The scholarship has a value of $2,000 and the scholarship recipient will also receive up to 10 weeks’ holiday work experience at WSP.

Congratulations to Lucy Sanson for winning the inaugural Papa Pounamu Whakatutukitanga scholarship.

Lance Leikis Emerging Planner Award

We also announced two individual awards. The first was the Lance Leikis Emerging Planner Award, supported this year by Boffa Miskel, which is awarded in recognition of a significant contribution by an emerging planner from an NZPI accredited course with up to 5 years work experience in the planning field and includes a financial contribution. This year there were a number of nominees and the judging panel ultimately decided that two deserved recognition.

The two winners for the 2020 NZPI Lance Leikis Emerging Planner Award were Kaitlyn Ritchie and Eseta Maka-Fonokalafi.

Both winners showcased outstanding early careers and the judging panel noted in particular Kaitlyn’s international work and Eseta’s work in the Māori and Pasifika planning space in Auckland

Alfred O. Glasse Award

And the final individual award was the Alfred O. Glasse Award. The Alfred O. Glasse Award is awarded in recognition of outstanding services to planning by non-planners and this year’s winner was Colin Wetherall.

Back to 2020 awards winners