2020 NZPI Award Winners

NZPI Celebrates Planners and the Planning Profession.

At the NZPI AGM we announced the NZPI Annual Award Scholarship winners, the winner of the Lance Leikis Emerging Planner Award and the winner of the Alfred O. Glasse Award. We will continue to announce the winners of the Annual Awards through Planning Focus over the coming weeks.

We recap the winners of the above awards below, but first we are excited to announce the first of our Best Practice Award category winners.

This week we are announcing the winner of the NZPI Best Practice Award for District / Regional Planning. The judges reviewed six high quality nominations and after consideration have awarded this year’s Best Practice - District / Regional Planning award to the Whangarei District Council for their “Whangarei City Core Precinct Plan” project.

NZPI Best Practice - District / Regional Planning

PROJECT: Whangarei City Core Precinct Plan


  • Whangarei District Council

Click here for full details

Scholarships, Grants, and individual Awards

  • Reginald Hammond Scholarship: Elisabeth Boyle
  • Robert Kennedy Grant: Associate Professor Caroline Miller
  • Papa Pounamu Whakatutukitanga Scholarship: Lucy Sanson
  • Lance Leikis Emerging Planner Award: Kaitlyn Ritchie and Eseta Maka-Fonokalafi
  • Alfred O. Glasse Award: Colin Wetherall

Click here for full details

Congratulations to all the winners announced at the AGM.

Next week we will announce the winners of the 2020 Best Practice – Integrated Planning and Investigations and the 2020 Best Practice – Consultation and Participation Strategies and/or Processes categories. Once again, our congratulations to all of the winners announced this week.